The Things Sophomore Year Taught Me

Hi there, I know you are probably thinking “what can a 19 year-old girl at the end of her sophomore year in college REALLY know?” Not to say I have it all together in any way, or that I am some wise man telling my tale of life, but I am going to just tell you a few things I think that my sophomore year in college has taught me.  So, here it goes…

1) Being happy comes from YOUR decisions, no one else’s

We have a decision.  A decision to be happy, a decision to be who we want to be or who we don’t.  For example, last year I was a freshman in college and all I wanted was to be happy.  I never found that happiness I yearned for, and you want to know why? Because I placed my happiness on others.  I entrusted people with my emotions who weren’t deserving of them at all.  This year/mainly this semester, I began to realize living this way would never get me where I wanted to go.  I began to instill my happiness and trust in myself and in the Lord, and although I may not be perfectly content all the time, I am pretty darn happy with myself.

“In all your ways know, recognize, and acknowledge Him, and He will direct and make straight and plain your paths.” 

Proverbs 3:6

2) There is ALWAYS a way out and up, I promise.

Just when you think nothing is going your way and there is no way you can possibly get out of the black hole sucking you deeper and deeper into bad decisions and horrible nightmares, you will find that things can only go up.  It sounds cliche, but when you put your trust in the Lord, and you have good friends and family, nothing can really go wrong in life, because Jesus will always have your back.  Whether it be school work, boys, or just life kicking you into the ground, there is always something better in the future.

“What then shall we say to this?  If God is for us, who can be against us?”

Romans 8:31

3) In order to find the right friends, you have to put yourself out there

I grew up in a small community, where everyone knew everyone.  Coming to college I joined a sorority but I never really felt like I fit in.  Today I can say that I am so thankful that I joined Alpha Delta Pi and decided to live on the hall this year.  It has truly been the best year of my life.  I have made life long friends that I can confide in whatever the circumstance may be.  I didn’t fully allow myself to give up time with some of my old friends to make new ones because I was hanging on to my past.  Now I not only have my best friends from high school, but I also have college best friends 🙂

4) The People who matter will always be there

I have a hard time letting go, if you can’t already tell.  If someone tries to walk out of my life, I have a hard time saying goodbye.  Often times I take things extremely personally and I can’t take “we just grew apart” for an answer, especially when it comes to people I really care about.  This year especially I have learned that the ones who matter and who want to be in your life won’t leave.  For example, my high school best friends are still some of my best friends in the world and you know why? Because they made an effort to stay in my life through the hard times.  They never once thought of the option of saying goodbye.  They truly want to be in my life.  Honestly, if someone doesn’t want to be in your life, you shouldn’t have to force them to be.  Relationships are mutual and if they become one-sided then it is usually time to say goodbye.

5) Don’t dread the day ahead

We spend so much time dreading the things we have to do throughout the day or the week instead of tackling the day with an open mind.  I am in the process of learning how to face every day with a positive outlook, starting with my devotions.  Talking to God in the morning can be a great start to the day.  Yes, there are always tasks we are going to dread, but if we take each day as it comes, we will be much happier.  Don’t be anxious, and take everything one step at a time.

“Do not fret or have anxiety about anything, but in every circumstance and in everything, by prayer and petition with thanksgiving, continue to make your wants known to God.”

Philippians 4:6

Thanks for reading my blog, I love ya.

Chan ❤

Published by

chandeww

My name is Chandler. I really like talking (to basically anyone who will listen). I also love Taylor Swift with a passion, which you will soon learn from reading my blog. I have a twin sister who is also my best friend even though we are polar opposites. Thanks for taking the time to read my blog, I hope you enjoy long rants about life and my views on it :)

Leave a Reply

