Wishing it Away

What’s going to happen tomorrow?  When will I meet my husband?  What am I going to do with my life?  These are frequent questions going on in my mind.  I spend so much time looking forward, seeking the future in all of my actions.  I always want things I can’t have and I always wonder what could have been and how to change the past.  We spend so much time wishing away our present by seeking things that are still to come.  Everything is planned and thought out in our brains.  We have been programmed since a young age to think that we should plan out our lives.

When I was seven years old, my day was fully compact with activities.  School from 8-2:30, piano at 5, tennis at 6:30, then homework and maybe time for play.  Our generation is so programmed for success.  We all want to find that one thing that makes us unique and we spend so much time trying to find it.  We have our weddings planned by age 16, we look for “Mr. Perfect” in every scenario.  Once again, we are wishing away what is to come.  As a college student, I catch myself constantly wondering what I will be doing with my life in ten years.  In all honesty, what does that matter right now?  I am here to get a degree, but I am also here to learn about myself.

I always wish for things that I don’t have and am so often jealous of people who have the things that I so desire.  This is not benefitting me, it is only hurting me.  I dwell on things that are in the past and wonder about the future.  Where does this leave the present?  It doesn’t.  We wish our lives away by wondering what’s next?  What is my life going to be like? YOU are living your life RIGHT NOW.  Ten years ago, I wondered where I would be.  Well, here I am now and what good did it do for me to worry about it back then?  I would have never pictured myself at Clemson University, living in a sorority dorm, without talking to my parents every single day.  But here I am.  I realize that it is important to learn from the past and to think about and plan for the future.  But thinking and planning is different than seeking and hoping for something better.  Be thankful for today, and go do what makes you happy!! 🙂

Published by

chandeww

My name is Chandler. I really like talking (to basically anyone who will listen). I also love Taylor Swift with a passion, which you will soon learn from reading my blog. I have a twin sister who is also my best friend even though we are polar opposites. Thanks for taking the time to read my blog, I hope you enjoy long rants about life and my views on it :)

Leave a Reply

