The Daily Struggle of Over Thinkers

Have you ever over-thought a situation so ridiculously that you just drove yourself crazy thinking about what you could have done differently? Imagine going through it about 129823 times a day.  Clearly I over think every situation that I go through on a daily basis.  I create problems out of things that aren’t there and meaning out of meaningless things.  I would have to say that’s one of my specialties.  Here are some of the wonderful things that people who over-think every situation do on a daily basis:

1. Screenshots on screenshots

No, we can’t send a text message of importance to anyone without have one (or five) friends proofread it first.  “Should I put a period there? Is that too harsh? Maybe I should take that one sentence out”.  Yes, I kid you not, texting is a process that requires a lot of thought.

texting

2. Yes, I noticed that you seemed different today

Conversations are everything.  If anything is slightly unusual in peoples’ behavior towards us, we tend to think it means they either are extremely mad at us, they are upset, or they just automatically hate us.  So basically you aren’t allowed to act weird toward us unless you have an actual reason to or else we will freak out.

no

3. “Am I being annoying?”

We ask this question (or at least think it) more than five times a day.  For some reason, we tend to think we are always bothering people when we probably aren’t at all, and even if we are, why even ask?  It is just something that we often do.

annoying

4. Talking in Circles

If we are ever in an argument, we will say the same things over and over until… it accomplishes nothing.  It’s like the answer isn’t good enough so we have to keep explaining ourselves, and vice versa for the person we are arguing with.  Nothing is ever solved because we just keep thinking about the same things.

talking

5. Everything is my fault

We take the blame for everything because we always think we are in the wrong.  Even if we did nothing wrong, we think so deeply and feel everything so deeply that we turn everything around on ourselves.  Basically, in our heads, we make mistakes in every situation and are always in the wrong.

my fault

6. No one cares

We tend to think that no one cares about what we have to say because a lot of it is irrelevant.  Our over-thinking leads us to believe that our thoughts aren’t worth listening to.

no one cares

7. Word Vomit

Sometimes, we just say whatever comes to our head because there are just so many thoughts going on all the time.  It’s like we are going 1000 mph inside, so sometimes we just say whatever we are thinking and it may not make sense, or we may just need to slow down, but we are always thinking constant thoughts.  It’s like one giant run-on sentence going on in our brains all the time.

babbling

8. Recreating Scenarios over and over

We replay things that have already happened over and over and wonder if we did something wrong.  “Was that awkward? Did I say something weird?”  We will drive ourselves crazy over the things we can’t change.  This comes back to the fact that we always think we are in the wrong.  We underestimate our social skills.

mid

9. Sleep isn’t a thing

Falling asleep is hard when you’re sitting up at night wondering what is going to happen tomorrow or what went wrong today.  We will fall asleep thinking about the things we did wrong or what we could have said differently, but honestly, does it matter if it’s already happened? And there is no way to predict what will happen tomorrow, so what’s the point in worrying?

thinking

10. AWKWARDNESS

We tend to think EVERYTHING we do or say is awkward.  We can’t go anywhere or do anything without worrying that the outcome will be embarrassing or awkward.  Honestly, being nervous about things like that does nothing for us so I’m not sure why we do it… But we do.

awkward

…. So, that was the struggle of being an over-thinker in modern society (aka the struggle I go through every day).  The moral of the story is that worrying and thinking about everything doesn’t solve anything, even though most of the time we can’t stop ourselves from doing it.  I hope that one day I can master the art of keeping my thoughts to a minimum, but until then I’ll just try to shake it off… LOL.

2764933-8920098941-tumbl

Published by

chandeww

My name is Chandler. I really like talking (to basically anyone who will listen). I also love Taylor Swift with a passion, which you will soon learn from reading my blog. I have a twin sister who is also my best friend even though we are polar opposites. Thanks for taking the time to read my blog, I hope you enjoy long rants about life and my views on it :)

Leave a Reply

